Week 1: Who Are You? Who Will You Be?

I like to think I know myself, but the truth is that I don’t – not entirely, at least. The more I learn, the more I discover who I really am and what I actually like. Coming into this program, I thought the direction I was going into would be television broadcast, but it’s only been 3 days and I’ve discovered new elements of broadcasting that I find interesting. That means I made the right choice when I picked Ryerson; I applied for Media Production at RTA so that I could learn more about the field that I plan on having a career in. I look forward to taking this industry apart and learning about each aspect of it so I can appreciate it more as a whole. I know that RTA is great for this as each required course inspects and analyzes a different part of the media industry, such as this course where the term “digital media” is explored.

Before this class, I saw “digital media” as a broad, umbrella term. I wasn’t sure what it included and what it didn’t, but now I’m starting to see that anything can be seen as digital media in one way or another. People view digital media every day and they might not even realize it. Sometimes, I don’t even notice; I just take what I see for granted – as what the digital media is supposed to represent. An advertisement looks like an advertisement, but while it is an ad, it’s also digital media.

A digital media course is especially important to RTA students because these are the kids that will spend the rest of their lives creating digital media, whether they be in media production, sports media, or new media. A good start would be to understand what it is and how to create it. Personally, as a student in Media Production, I believe learning about digital media will be crucial to my success in the future – It’s a part of the content that I’m supposed to produce.

On the side, I’ve worked on several projects that involve digital media such as creating graphics and advertisements on Photoshop. So I’m no stranger to manipulating graphics, but I’m excited to learn more about how to create the kind of graphics I see on a day to day basis using systems I am familiar with and programs I am not familiar with like After Effects. I think one of the few obstacles I’ll have to face would be dealing with new software. Even though it’s going to be a challenge, I don’t see it as a bad thing; I think it’ll help me expand my ability to produce media.

Hopefully, by the end of this course I can look back at this post and laugh at how little I knew about digital media – or over how much I actually knew about digital media and failed to recognize it.

Week 1: Who Are You? Who Will You Be?

Leave a Reply

