Week 4: Your Digital Footprint

“What goes on the internet, stays on the internet.”
– Urban Proverb

What I learned in this lecture is that it is important to maintain a positive reputation on social media, as what is on the internet can never be removed, but at the same time, enjoy the use of social media.

Aside from the digital footprint that has been associated with me before I could consciously contribute to it, I have directly created my own digital footprint through use of social media. Like many people, I use social media platforms: Twitter, Facebook, Instagram – the whole nine yards. It isn’t difficult to work your finger muscles and scroll through my entire Twitter page to find the key life events I thought were worthy of posting on the web. from now back until 2011, depicted through 140 lettered posts. That can be both a blessing and a curse, depending on what you post. Social media networks can keep track of memories you would not have any reminders of otherwise. At the same time, what may seem to be harmless can be what prevents you from getting your dream job. As I rarely use these social media outlets for their conventional uses (communicating) and instead use them as portals into other people’s lives, I don’t really worry about who sees what I post. When I do, I take care in ensuring that my posts are politically correct and that has more to do with my own ethics rather than what people will interpret my posts as.

I believe the best way to go about creating an online identity is to create it as similar to your real life identity as possible. This way, it is authentic and portrays the person behind the screen. Otherwise, it would be a false persona and with lies in general, the story can get twisted and that will only lead to a mess. Taking celebrities for example, what they say will often be criticized by professionals and fans alike, so it is important for them to watch what they say. This may often hinder their ability to speak their mind, but it is a part of their job to maintain a good public image. On a smaller scale, I think ordinary people on social media should keep in mind of the consequences of sharing on social media, regardless of whether they have a large following or not.

Week 4: Your Digital Footprint

Leave a Reply

